Bixis and bike lanes

This is not a rant.

In good faith to my reader(s), I will start off on a smiley note.

Montrealers love bixis. Once the cold weather slips away, usually around the end of March or beginning of April, bixis start to make a comeback.  For those who don’t know, bixis are bikes you can rent that are mostly intended for short excursions.  Montreal has racks of these things set up all over the place, so unlike in Ottawa, it is actually a pretty convenient way to get around.  Bixis are great because they encourage people to cycle short distances rather than take a car or public transit, and I am 100% in favor of bikes over cars. See? I love bixis.

Bixi delivery!

I also love bikelanes.

Montreal is jam-packed full of bike lanes.  Some are segregated, some are not.  Each time I take a new route through the city, I run into more bike lanes that just seem to go on and on forever.  Once I went exploring taking bike lanes only and I rode for hours without going in circles.  Bike lanes are especially handy for cyclists who don’t feel like battling it out with Montreal drivers each and every commute.  Like bikis, I am 100% in support of bike lanes.

The catch? I secretly curse bixi riders and I avoid bike lanes like potholes and transport trucks.

If this were a rant, I would whine about how there is something about the way bixis are built that makes them excruciatingly slow.  I would also complain that there is also something about the way bixi riders are built that makes them think they are spectacularly fast. I may even finish with: If I had to choose between getting stuck behind a bixi or the infamous 24 bus, it would be a real toss-up.

Worst. View. Ever.

This is not a rant so I won’t discuss the way bike lanes are littered with potholes, nor will I touch on the fact that they are slow and highly congested, with bixis, nonetheless.  I will be especially sure not to mention my frustration with pedestrians who walk across bike lanes without doing what we were all taught in our Sesame Street years: to look both ways.

Since I exercised impressive restraint this time around, stay-tuned for a bixi/bike lane related rant.

…End rant.

2 thoughts on “Bixis and bike lanes

  1. jerzak80 April 6, 2012 / 12:46 pm

    I feel your frustration. Having cycled in London it is hard work dodging every other fool on the road, especially those who give cyclists a bad name. Now we live in Bristol where there is much less congestion and therefore less frustration 🙂

    p.s. everyone loves a rant

    • walktrotcycle April 11, 2012 / 8:57 am

      Thanks for your support- I have never cycled in London but I can imagine that it’s more challenging (and scary) than Montreal!

Thoughts?

