Hello Heatwave

Holy hell it was a hot day for cycling.

At 35 degrees it feels like 45 and I took this opportunity to cash in on some lieu time and play hookie from work.  If ever there was a day to avoid melting off of my bicycle in a 30km ride, today was it.  Now I am in my toasty apartment, sipping a Stella and competing with my cat for a space in front of the table fan.  Earlier today however, I found myself cycling around centretown despite Environment Canada’s weather warning.

Cycling in near tropic temperatures is an acquired taste, to say the least.  By the end of a short 5km ride you are a giant, glistening sweatball with bad hair and the beginnings of an awkward knee tan.  (Honestly, I can’t be the only cyclist in the city with tanned knees.)  Today, in fact, I fit the above description by the time I finished unlocking my bike.  By the time I made it to the next block I was questioning my decision (and my sanity).  Why give up the wonderful comforts of home (ie. table fan) for the sweltering streets of Ottawa?

No, I’m just being dramatic.

Cycling in the heat is no sweat (lies; it’s always sweaty) as long as you bring sunscreen and lots of water.  And as long as you go nice and slow.  The heat tends to have a slo-mo effect on the city so you may not have much of  say in the matter.  Of course, if you are anything like those bike short wearing, aquapack toting diehards that insist on breezing past me no matter what, you will go as fast as you can to prove to us all that mere temperature hikes will not stand in your way.  

But seriously, here’s hoping tomorrow stays under 30.

Bike parking

4 thoughts on “Hello Heatwave

  1. Kel July 22, 2011 / 10:04 am

    Apparently, people were dropping like flies int he streets. There were emergency vehicles just driving around picking up people. Whew! Now that’s HOT! Also, you’re a little insane.

    • walktrotcycle July 22, 2011 / 10:41 pm

      Pfffft. Emergency vehicles ain’t got nothing on me. PS. If you are biking to the OHS on the regular we should totally go for a ride after work!

  2. Aladah Ann July 21, 2011 / 11:16 pm

    Hey Malorie, I really like your blog. I also have an awkward knee tan. Its an important issue that just doesn’t get talked about enough. Anyways, we should discuss bike adventures at our next gathering! Have a great summer!

    • walktrotcycle July 22, 2011 / 10:44 pm

      Hey Ann – I am always kind of suprised when people read this blog because it’s really more of an outlet than anything else (I can only bore my friends and lovers with bike blabber for so long)! We should definitly just ditch the next gathering and go for a bike ride!

Thoughts?

